Sew Many Joys

A Life of Family…Crafts…Joy…and LOVE

Where He Leads

You might think I’m losing it-well not really losing it-just singing a lot of hymns lately in my head….all day long.

I don’t usually listen to many hymns but lately I get some phrase of one of them in my head and it just plays all day. God has a great way of connecting through music–in my opinion at least – I found music so healing, refreshing and always so uplifting.

I must say, lately, some types though, I just don’t find it to be all that spiritually guiding and I struggle. Of course I feel guilty, I know that I shouldn’t be ‘selfish’ or make it about me, but I’m finding that I don’t connect with certain types of musical genres in Christian music. My mind wanders, I lose my focus and it suddenly isn’t about God!

Well, I must stop my musical discussion for tonight…..

Where He Leads Me

I can hear my Savior calling,
I can hear my Savior calling,
I can hear my Savior calling,
“Take thy cross and follow, follow Me.”

Where He leads me I will follow,
Where He leads me I will follow,
Where He leads me I will follow;
I’ll go with Him, with Him, all the way.

I’ll go with Him through the garden,
I’ll go with Him through the garden,
I’ll go with Him through the garden,
I’ll go with Him, with Him all the way.

I’ll go with Him through the judgment,
I’ll go with Him through the judgment,
I’ll go with Him through the judgment,
I’ll go with Him, with Him all the way.

He will give me grace and glory,
He will give me grace and glory,
He will give me grace and glory,
And go with me, with me all the way.

One response to “Where He Leads

  1. rcottrill September 23, 2010 at 09:36

    Your blog post caught my eye this morning because of the hymn “Where He Leads Me.” The tune was written by Canadian pastor John Norris, who died 103 years ago today.

    And I’ve had the same experience as you mention–having a hymn running through my mind all day long. (Better than a lot of other things we could be thinking about!) If you enjoy reading about our hymns and their authors, I encourage you to visit my daily blog on the subject, Wordwise Hymns.

    And if you’ll excuse a brief “commercial:” With the arrival of fall, we begin to think of the Christmas season up ahead. If you do not have a good book on the subject of our Christmas carols, I encourage you to take a look at mine, Discovering the Songs of Christmas. In it, I discuss the history and meaning of 63 carols and Christmas hymns. The book is available through Amazon, or directly from Jebaire Publishing. (Might make a great gift too!)

Leave a Reply

