Sew Many Joys

A Life of Family…Crafts…Joy…and LOVE

I’ve Always Dreamt of a ‘Boy In A Box’

During my college years, I would always joke about wanting a ‘boy in a box’. Looking back now I can’t even remember where the crazy idea initiated from but I know that we always would joke about one day finding a boy in a box and likewise the joke continued for quite some time. In my courtship with Joel, my girlfriends would always say things like, guess you found your boy in a box. It was, and will always be, a good joke – an insider joke nonetheless – but one that we all can’t help smiling at.

Well the other day I was playing with my sons downstairs in their playroom. I walked away to the laundry room to switch over some clothing, came back in the room and found my two sons doing this:

I couldn’t help but laugh. And we sure laughed for a while! The more Mommy laughed, the more it happened. This ‘boy in a box’ routine went on for almost 40 minutes that evening! 40 minutes of playing with the same 3 items! It was beautiful.

It just goes to show you – you never know what you are going to get when you ask! I asked for a boy in a box; I ended up with two!



4 responses to “I’ve Always Dreamt of a ‘Boy In A Box’

  1. Michele August 26, 2010 at 14:07

    Its amazing isn’t it….those little moments in our lives that leave such a mark. Watching your children with their imaginations running wild…..

  2. Charlotte Griffith August 26, 2010 at 14:24

    Boxes make the best toys–cost free and imagination powered!

  3. Joel Coleman August 26, 2010 at 15:23

    I love the blog. It’s neat to see what you guys are up to while I am at work. Now you have three boys in a box.

  4. Sarah Thompson August 26, 2010 at 17:19

    This is too perfect, and made me smile and laugh, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

