Sew Many Joys

A Life of Family…Crafts…Joy…and LOVE

More Than Their Mother

I’ve accepted my sons read more than I do!! I was an avid reader – and now I read when I have to! It breaks my heart…I mean between many cooking & baking projects and then all the fun I can find in crafting, not to mention the pure excitement in blogging – I may never ever sit down to read again.

But I love watching Kaiden & Brenden read! They page through a book (one they know all too well) with sheer excitement and adventure. Sometimes they’ll laugh at a page and most times they’ll have some nonsense words to say as they page through a book. The record speed of paging is fun to watch as well. They’ll move you long a little faster if you aren’t paging through at a nice pace. Most often it is really just a hurry to get through the pages only to go through the other way! Reading with them is a lot of fun and sure makes me savor those moments.

The other week the boys were very excited to read…they read with their Grandparents and then Brenden, in the most innocent way, handed his Great Grammy a book and asked to be picked up so she could read the story to him. He loved having her tell the story about Spot and visiting his Grammy…it was so special, I was ever so thankful I could capture the moment on camera!

Reading is important to both the boys, I’m glad we started them with story time and moments of sharing from birth. I hope they’ll always love the moments reading alone or with someone else!

Niki

2 responses to “More Than Their Mother

  1. Charlotte Griffith August 27, 2010 at 14:26

    I read to Brent and Karen until Brent was in Middle School, and he announced it took too long to hear the book from me. He’d rather read it on his own. (We were doing novels then.) It was such a great shared experience, and also always calmed things down when they were beginning to push each other’s buttons.

    Incidentally, as a teacher, I hope that as the boys get older that they do see you and Joel reading your own books sometimes. I read recently that we have gotten the message to parents to read to children and many more are read to now, and they start off their formal education loving books and reading well. However, about third or fourth grade, they stop reading, both because we end up scheduling kids so much that they have less time, and because they regard it as something little kids do, and not a grown up activity.

    • NMC August 27, 2010 at 16:15

      I really love reading and miss it a lot. I don’t want to be the parents that schedule their kids crazy because I know that there is a lot to be experienced sometimes in the ‘not-as-scheduled’ moments! πŸ™‚ Thankfully Joel had really been reading up a storm lately – more than he ever has and I think he enjoys it. He asked if we could read a book together on vacation – as we did a few years ago-it is true-modeling works! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

