Sew Many Joys

A Life of Family…Crafts…Joy…and LOVE

And the world awaits…

I know, the world awaits some sort of post! Something!!

And while there is tons going on and lots of fun pictures to share, I am going to spend this ‘first post back from a short hiatus’ showing you my recent work-well last week work!

My mother – a very very very cool woman – found my sons a dresser for their small room at a yard sale over the summer. It has taken almost a complete year to find one that will fit their room. I had been on the search since last summer to find a nice, simple, inexpensive, white dresser with four or five drawers but not too wide and not too tall – and oh the criteria could go on forever.

Well, I was about to purchase one for $50 (GASP) and it wasn’t white, it was off-white with FLOWERS and so it would have needed some work! But I was almost on desperate, and almost ready to call it mine and something inside said WAIT WAIT WAIT that perfect dresser is out there somewhere.

My dear mother, who stopped at yard sale on her way to somewhere else, one pretty Saturday morning, found a YELLOW four drawer dresser. And then she saw the price, $4. Yes, four, not forty, FOUR! She grabbed it faster than I could answer my cell phone and purchased this dresser. Now, four dollars doesn’t buy you much in life but this piece of yellow 70’s piece was a classic. It was far from pretty or even nice looking but somewhere underneath we both saw this beauty for the potential it had!

Well I got it home and I didn’t like it as much as I did at the yard sale. What was I thinking with that ugly {plastic} decorative border?! EEK! (Side note: there really were four drawers, I had already started to ‘play’ with the piece before I took my ‘before’ photo!)

But really-look at that beauty-it was UGLY! I may have made a mistake! I really wasn’t happy with this piece and after the waste of money and now effort, I was honestly regretting turning down the off-white one. I knew a coat of paint would have changed it!

Well my luck would have it…I could get that plastic piece off each drawer….and I found this:

(My camera didn’t capture that yellow well enough this close to the piece) But it was off! I had almost a great chance of this working! I mean, who knew $4 could get me this much excitement?! I quickly filled the holes, sanded the piece down and got to painting. It took a few coats-the wood wasn’t as absorbant of the color white as I envisioned, but three coats did the job!

I purchased three new handles, we’re not sure why only three. I since purchased the fourth and will install it today! Silly me. Here is what the dresser looks like today…once in my garage and then in the boys room…

If you look close enough the second drawer didn’t cover as evenly. I figure by the time they are in big boy beds, I’ll have changed the room again! You know me, can’t leave it the same way too long! hahaha. But with the fourth handle it looks neat and it fit their room beautifully! My $4 conversion just cost me the $11 (something) in new handles, since I had paint already at home! A nice save! For $15 dollars, I have a new dresser and my boys finally don’t have clothing in bins on a ‘bookshelf’.

I already took the hutch apart and God willing will start the much anticipated, most nerve-wracking project I’ll ever do this week sometime! I just don’t want to ruin this amazing hutch piece–we’ll see shortly, I guess! 🙂

5 responses to “And the world awaits…

  1. Charlotte Griffith September 20, 2010 at 16:00

    Seeing the potential when the initial presentation looks pretty dismal works with both furniture and people! ˝Great job of bringing out the best in this chest of drawers. I’m glad I’ve seen the boys’ room so I can imagine how the whole room looks with it.

    • NMC September 20, 2010 at 16:27

      It sure is true of people and furniture! 🙂 Thanks Aunt Charlotte. You commenting about the boys room-brings me to a question I’ve had for a while – do you have the picture you took here of the boys room? I never took one of the way their nursery looked once settled here. (I’m guilty of changing it around A LOT!) If you have one, can you e-mail it sometime? I have a blank spot in their scrapbooks that needs it. If you don’t, I’ll take one the way it is now, not as big of a deal. Thank you so much.

  2. Sarah September 21, 2010 at 18:53

    It looks great! 🙂

  3. sarai September 28, 2010 at 12:25

    Wow, that dresser looks like it cost at LEAST $100 when you got through with it. Congrats on scoring such a cute dresser for only $4!

    • NMC September 28, 2010 at 12:38

      Thanks. I sure had a lot of fun ‘playing’ around with it. I still can’t believe it was only $4. I know my Mother did a couple of ‘checks’ to make sure she was really reading $4!! It’s the small things in life that make us smile!

Leave a Reply

