Sew Many Joys

A Life of Family…Crafts…Joy…and LOVE

Pumpkin Pumpkin

So, in my quest to have more ‘fall’ foods, I found a desirable recipe for Pumpkin Cream Cheese Bread!

Yes, I’m NUTS! I’m working my way back to my healthiest weight and I make Pumpkin Cream Cheese Bread. Who could resist? Well, my solution was rather simple, so I’ll give you the details first.

I had some cooked down pumpkin that I had to use up in the freezer, so this was where I thought it would be most appreciated!

 

I found this recipe at Nancy Creative’s Website. I am not sure how I stumbled upon the blog, but I have read it for a little now and this recipe was found in my reading…. PUMPKIN CREAM CHEESE BREAD. A little slice of heaven for Fall!

I adapted the recipe a little to meet the needs of ingredients I had here…so here it is:

Pumpkin Cream Cheese Bread

Filling
8oz Light Cream Cheese, softened
3/4 cup sugar (You can add less if you don’t want it to be very sweet)
1 Tbsp. flour
1 egg
3/4 tsp. vanilla extract

Bread
1  2/3 cups flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. ground cloves
1 1/4 cups pureed pumpkin (canned or homemade)
1/2 cup oil
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 cup of chopped walnuts or pecans (optional)

Cinnamon Glaze
1 cup powered sugar
2 Tbsp. half&half
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 cup chopped pecans or walnuts for garnish (optional)

Preheat your oven to 325 (next time I’m going to try it at 350). Grease and flour two 8x4x3 inch pans. (I used 4 ‘mini loaf’ disposable pans because I was giving them as a little thank you gift to a bunch of people) In a mixing bowl, cream the cream cheese, add sugar, flour, egg and vanilla; beat until smooth and creamy. Set aside.

In another mixing bowl, sift the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and gloves and set aside.

In another mixing bowl (are you thinking, gosh the dishes will be cumbersome?!) beat the eggs. Add sugar and beat well. Add eggs and pumpkin puree. Take this pumpkin mixture and pour it into the bowl with the sifted dry ingredients. Mix (with a spoon) until just combined. Fold in your chopped nuts if you so desire.

(Because I’m partially strange….) I took the batter-poured half (which is about a little over 2cups) and poured that into four mini greased and floured little pans. Take that cream cheese mixture and evenly distribute in each loaf pan. Take the remaining batter and pour on top of the cream cheese layer. Take a knife (or a toothpick) and swirl the top layer of pumpkin with the cream cheese, a little. (just to create a swirled effect when it is cut later.)

Bake in the oven (if you did 325 for about 55-60 minutes). My tops got kind of brown at that long because the little loaf pans needed that long too, unfortunately. So I will try to do it a little higher for less time and see how that works next time. But you’ll know it is done (by the pleasant aroma in your house, no, seriously…) when inserting a knife or toothpick in center and comes out dry and clean. Cool the bread in the pans for about 10 minutes and then remove to a rack to let it cool down the remainder of the way. I think next time I’ll leave mine in my little mini loaf pans-I can serve them easier in those for little gifts. But prepare the Cinnamon glaze by combining the ingredients. Pour over all the breads–drizzle makes it look pretty and top with any chopped nuts. The bread must be completely cooled before drizzling the glaze.
It was DELICIOUS. I may tweak the spices some more-I’m not a fan of nutmeg, but you can add that in too – same thing with ginger. I have a strong dislike of both of those spices, so I avoid and make other substitutions. But this was wonderful. I did keep one of the mini loafs, to try out to see how I could make it better – or even if it was good to give to people and between me and the little boys in 3 days that bad boy was gone! 🙂

I didn’t take a single picture….because I was just so excited to get making it, it didn’t hit me until I was already finished and all the loafs were packaged for ‘delivery’.

Give it a try-I have enough pumpkin left over to make it again—may have to find more people who would like one! 🙂

One response to “Pumpkin Pumpkin

  1. nancyc November 4, 2010 at 14:13

    Thanks for linking to my blog! Glad you and your family liked the pumpkin bread recipe! 🙂

Leave a Reply

