Sew Many Joys

A Life of Family…Crafts…Joy…and LOVE

A large mistake

So recently I made a rather large mistake! One that has me sick to my stomach and full of guilt and heartache. I can’t believe I did it – and well here I am up after midnight trying to right my ‘wrong’.

I can’t believe I fell ‘sucker’ to something and now my heart is filled with so many emotions. BUT, you know what, my husband is amazing. I made a mistake, one that hurt both of us and you know what he said, ‘it is okay, we make a mistake, there is nothing we can do about it. Don’t worry!’ I would have screamed at myself if I were him, I would have really had words. Instead he offered me undeserved grace and love.

I mean…I already knew my husband was a great person and this just helped me to see the beauty of him in a moment that I wasn’t expecting it -but sure did need it. Of course, it hasn’t gotten me to stop feeling sick and guilty-but I’m surely ready to admit it was a mistake–one I’ll NEVER do again and yet my husband still loves me through it. I’m sure in his heart he isn’t all that thrilled but he’s so kind and gentle….

A true man after God’s own heart…because that’s how we all need to treat each other….another lesson for me in there….WOW a 2 for the price of 1!

I guess I’m writing to ask my friends and family and even those who happen to stumble here by mistake—offer grace and love to those around you. You have no idea when it’ll mean the most and of course it is what we all are called to do!! 🙂

One response to “A large mistake

  1. Charlotte Griffith January 10, 2011 at 21:00

    Niki, I read this several days ago. I was impressed with your tribute to Joel. You are both so good for each other. I also sensed your feelings of guilt–I’m pretty good (or should I say bad) with the guilt trips, too. However, one conclusion I have drawn is that if a mistake is reparable (even at some loss of finances) and does not do permanent damage, then count it as a learning opportunity. It’s okay. I love you!

Leave a Reply

